Tags

, , , , ,

Being a stay-at-home mom has been my goal my entire life. I have always felt that it is the most important job a person can have. SAHMs shape the lives of little people, ensuring they will be whole, responsible, giving, and not make their teachers regret the profession.

I’ve been a SAHM for 9 months now. I’ve been both fulfilled and unrequited. Some moments are filled with loving children, tired from play, curled around me. Others are filled with my 4 year old yelling for her butt to be wiped while the poop stench wafts from my nearly 2 year old – as my infant screams for his pacifier. I stop and wonder what it is I’m doing that I used to think was so important. There have been good and bad mothers since the beginning of humanity. It all balances out. Unless my children specifically do something that alters human life in a significant way; What, I wonder, have I accomplished?

My Facebook friends list is filled with people more educated, more popular, more in shape, more artistic, more altruistic than me. They are all busy as I sit in my pajamas reinserting a pacifier.

As I close in on who I am, it becomes more glaringly obvious that I do not have a “thing.” I do not possess overwhelming skill, talent, faith, learning, or money.

I’m a mom. Which is, thank God, more than I was before these babies gave me purpose.

