Tags

, , ,

I have spent an inordinate amount of my life creating expectations for people around me and being angry with them when they didn’t meet them. Realizing this now, I recognize its absurdity. Why have I wasted so much of my energy in this pursuit?

When people have pissed me off, they were acting as particles blowing in the wind of their circumstances. When I have pissed others off, I may or may not have done it on purpose. Whether it was premeditated or not isn’t the point. At the bottom of it all, none of it was premeditated. I was responding to a number of factors. My upbringing, my worldview, my mood at the time, and so on ad infinitum.

You may have come in the crossfire of that. Or I may have come in the crossfire of your factors. Perhaps there are so many elements in our discord that we cannot really stand to interact at all. Fine. Let’s not pretend that we are superior or more dignified and set about the pretenses of forgiving one another, as if we are in need of each other’s forgiveness. But let’s not stew in our supposed slights any longer.

Let me not be troubled any longer by these affronts. Let me relax the muscles of my mind and find peace. Whatever strife I have been caused shall pass. Do this for me as well, after all, I am only human. I am ordinary and extraordinary and hateful and vibrant and full of love for everyone and nothing depending on the day, the hour, the moment. Let us not be afflicted by all the circumstances of another’s moments, rather, let us find serenity in armistice.

